Live! In the Link Age 08.08.17

EpicCrushSixteen-year-old Genie Lo discovers she possesses the superpower of an ancient Chinese celestial spirit in F.C. Yee’s debut novel The Epic Crush of Genie Lo (First Printing: August 2017 / ISBN: 9781419725487). In tandem with the teenage manifestation of the Monkey King, Genie must battle an array of demons that have recently escaped Diyu (the realm of the dead in Chinese mythology). Yee’s book has already garnered rave reviews from Publishers Weekly (here) and Kirkus (here). It looks like a winner. Hopefully, we’ll get our hands on a copy soon.

Ladee Hubbard’s debut novel (The Talented Ribkins / First Printing: August 2017 / ISBN: 9781612196367) is an ambitious attempt to blend superheroes with the U.S. civil rights movement of the mid-20th century. Stop the presses: This is the first book we’ve mentioned on our site to be plugged by a Nobel Prize-winning author. “For sheer reading pleasure Ladee Hubbard’s original and wildly inventive novel is in a class by itself,” says Toni Morrison. Reviews (here and here).

Freya is a myth and a legend. And in Matthew Laurence’s novel (Freya / First Printing: March 2017 / ISBN: 9781250088178) she’s about to make a crashing comeback. In her prime, she was the Norse goddess of love, beauty, war, and death. But recently she’s been lying low. Now the time has come for her to step out of the history books and join the 21st century. According to the publisher, Freya blends elements of fantasy and science fiction in a modern-world setting. “Perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.” Interestingly, the sequel is titled Slay (available 03.13.18).

In 2015, we met the invincible (yet imperfect) August Dillon in a short story titled “The First Death of August.” Back then he was a superhero fleeing from a persistent paramilitary organization. Now two years later, author Matt King continues Dillon’s story in a newly released trilogy. King says he published all three books at the same time “Netflix style” to give readers options. We think that’s a good move. People consume content in ever-changing ways these days. The Circle War series includes: Godsend, The Last Winter, and Ascension.

The Velvet Vandal is stealing cultural artifacts in Guy Cook’s new book Culture Man (First Printing: May 2017 / ISBN: 9781545559222). The series of burglaries catches the attention of a superhero who is otherwise engaged in a dubious attempt to win a local tennis tournament. “Culture Man is a superhero novel, but probably not in the way most of the books on your site are,” says Cook in a recent email. “It’s low key – perhaps ‘English’ is the best way to describe it.” Beyond that, the author promises vigorous superhero and supervillain action, a mysterious professor, a little bit of romance, an escaped anteater, and a thrilling climax.

The Vigilantes, a new series from author Trish Heinrich, is about a young woman who reinvents herself as a crimefighting superhero to avenge the death of her beloved aunt. The series, says Heinrich, will appeal to anyone who likes brave heroines, chilling villains, and a dash of romance. The first two books in the series, Serpent’s Sacrifice and Serpent’s Rise, will be available in October.

Rebecca Sun of The Hollywood Reporter recently moderated a panel titled “Warrior Women – reimagining the Asian Female Hero.” Sharing the stage with her was Paula Yoo (writer/producer of the Supergirl TV show), Sarah Kuhn (author of Heroine Worship), Samantha Jo (actor and stuntwoman in the recent Wonder Woman movie), Claire Lanay (actress and regular host of the Afronerd Radio podcast), and Sumalee Montano (voice of Katana from the Beware the Batman cartoon series).

Interviews: Gwenda Bond, author of Lois Lane: Triple Threat (here). John Ridley, author of The American Way: Those Above and Those Below (here).

Reviews: Miles Morales: Spider-Man by Jason Reynolds (here and here). Heroine Worship by Sarah Kuhn (here, here, here, here, and here). At the Table of Wolves by Kay Kenyon (here). Lois Lane: Triple Threat by Gwenda Bond (here, and here). Sovereign by April Daniels (here). Wonder Woman: The Official Movie Novelization by Nancy Holder (here and here). Sentinels: Vendetta by Van Allen Plexico (here). Face the Change by Samantha Bryant (here).

For your reading pleasure: The Oracle Year by Charles Soule. Don’t Cosplay with My Heart by Cecil Castellucci. Not Your Villain by C.B. Lee. Pinnacle City by Matt Carter and Fiona J.R. Titchenell. Honey and Salt by David Perlmutter. The Fiasco In News by Stephan Morse. Go Nitro: Rise of the Blades by Jeremy N. Dooley. Pulse by Michael Harvey. Talon of God by Wesley Snipes and Ray Norman. “Under the Gray: A Pussy Katnip Story” by Brett Brooks. Superhero Therapy by Janina Scarlet.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Live! In the Link Age. Bookmark the permalink.